Thread: .44 Mag., bullets and hunting ?

Question .44 Mag., bullets and hunting ?

The days of shooting a rifle may be behind me for good after the struggles of injury and complications which plague me so, I have decided to shift focus to the use of handguns if I am going to have any chance at hunting again.

I have a Ruger Super Blackhawk .44mag. 7 1/2" and am thinkig of giving this wheel gun the first go but ,I have only handloaded for and fired this revolver at targets.

After doing some reading and looking around for localy available bullets, I was able to find Swift A frame in 300grn, Barnes Buster in 300grn, 255 Keith hardcast by LBT and Speer Gold Dot/Deep Curl 270grn. I have ample supllies of Bullseye, H110, Win 296 and some Herc2400 powders on my shelf . The only bullet I have any reservations about is the Speer GDSP against thick moose hair and hide, the other three I would think would have superior performance over the Speer, but I have no experience first hand or otherwise any of these projectiles.

For those of you with handgun hunting experience, particularly big bore, the .44mag and any of these bullets or prefered factory fodder, I seek your suggestions. Also, what are your pet handloads for this caliber ?

Thanks you.

Iím no 44mag guy so Iím no real help on load data but I am a handgun hunter. Best hunting bullet (until speeds close to 2Kfps where XTP is better) is good heavy for caliber hard cast. And best powder you listed is the H110/W296 as long as you arenít hunting in below freezing weather, I prefer LilGun but H110 does fine except for the cold issues. Get the heaviest hard cast bullet you can and drive it 1100-1400fps, you want 1100fps at the moose so 1400fps gives you range if you can shoot it. Lee Stoner casts great bullets here in the Valley, he is a RO at the indoor range. Artic Ammo stocks his sometimes and P r i c k l y Pear brand which is also good quality.