Thread: Lake Creek or Talachulitna ????

Default Lake Creek or Talachulitna ????

Will be doing a unguided lake creek or Talachulitna 5-day float the end of July or first week of Aug.
    Was wondering how technical the Lake creek float will be through the class 3/4 rapid area. I have little but some rafting experience but will have my father and another man that are around 65 years old (but physically fit for their age) along. The last thing I want to do is get them in a comprimising position on the river.
    Any suggestions and what would be the optimum time for the silver run there.
    Any suggestions for pilot services or raft rentals?
    I have talked with Jack Barber at Alaska Air Taxi and Jeff at Alaska raft and Kayak. Has anyone had any experience with these two companies?
    Thanks,
    Jon

Lake Creek is a good float for novices. I took 3 guys from L.A. and other than showing up in K-Mart rain gear, they had a blast. I remember only one "GOOD" rapid, and it wasn't bad. Just keep them on their toes when in the raft.

You should get into some really nice rainbows-big ones. Fish for them below the silvers and hang on!
    Live life and love it
    Love life and live it

Wink water levels

It all depends om water levels. Lake creek can be a breeze in low to moderate water levels, and you can catch tons of big trout and grayling, however in high water conditions the rapids through the canyon can be brutal. many a raft has been flipped there. So if water levels are high you may want to line your raft down through that stretch. just down stream of the last white water at the bottom of the canyon is a great camping spot, just don't count on fire wood there.

Default See Lake Creek and the Tal for yourself

The bookstore on this website sells a dvd/river guide product for both Lake Creek and the Talachulitna.