Thread: Alaska Road Trip--many questions

Default Alaska Road Trip--many questions

Hi all,

This is my first time coming here, so I am not sure if my question is posted at right place. If it is not, excuse me, plz.

My husband and I are in our early 60’s and this is my retirement trip. It is going to be a road trip of about two weeks (giver or take a couple days depending on what I learn here.)…summer of 2013. We enjoy road trips and have been campers/hikers our entire

lives. However, my husband has had knee replacement surgery (2 years ago) so our hiking isn’t what it once was. The following is my “draft” agenda which I hope some of you can help me with.
    We will be flying round trip from Austin Texas to Anchorage. I mention Texas because there is a reason I live here…it is called “heat.” I am cold natured…wet-cold weather is my least favorite, however, I love travel and the outdoors and know how to layer…at least for most of the US.
    So we will be making a big loop, Anchorage to Anchorage.
    Question: When will be the best time for me to go? I am thinking sometime between mid June to mid July. I know it is probably the most crowded time, but I am looking for the warmest, driest time possible. I know it is unpredictable, but what would be my best shot?
    Day 1 – Fly into Anchorage – stay overnight, pick up car
    Day 2 – Anchorage to Healy for our visit to Danali – overnight in Healy
    Day 3 – Healy - Danali Bus into park
    Questions: How far is best? Is Wonder Lake too far? Is is dangerous to get off the bus, (ie bears) for photographs? We had no problems keeping safe distances from the critters in Yellowstone and still getting great photographs (got our first /only Grizzley shot). But Alaska is more "wilderness" than Yellowstone…so I am trying to figure out my boundaries.
    Day 4 – Danali to Fairbanks – overnight in Fairbanks (