Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new hunter - Regs are overwhelming- help!

Default new hunter - Regs are overwhelming- help!

Hello all - I desperately want to get a caribou or moose this year. The ADFG regs are really, really hard to understand. Anyone have any advice? Gah, where do I start? Whats step 1 (besides a rifle, lol)?
    I'm a resident/located in Anchorage, willing to travel anywhere in SouthCentral up to Fairbanks.
    I can make it easier - lets just say Caribou. Any advice/proper steps to take would be greatly appreciated!
    Thanks in advance!

Caribou was just covered. Your options are the Haul road or unit 16 for a general season hunt, though I've never seen one in 16 or know anyone who's taken one. Everything else in that range requires a permit.

Gettin a map and reading the regs is a start.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

Quote Originally Posted by TWB View Post
    Caribou was just covered. Your options are the Haul road or unit 16 for a general season hunt, though I've never seen one in 16 or know anyone who's taken one. Everything else in that range requires a permit.

Gettin a map and reading the regs is a start.
    Dang bad info man 40 mile requirement is a harvest ticket. Dang TWB your losing your edge. So your options are the 40 mile herd harvest ticket, mcombs herd harvest ticket, white mtn harvest ticket (i remember Vince saying something about the state is going to lump this hunt in with the 40 mile hunt not sure though) or the haul road hunt.