Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ship creek silvers advice

Default Ship creek silvers advice

My buddy and I will be flying in to ANC on the morning of the 23rd of August. The tide comes in at about 12:00 noon according to the charts I can find. Access seems to be easy but I am a noob (nube). We have never targeted silvers without a guide-him never. We are bringing spinning rods with 14 to 20lb line. We have a bunch of lures my guide told me to buy several years ago-pixies, etc.
    I have been watching videos on youtube trying to glean info. I got some great advice on a hole further up the road but thought we might stop by ship creek on the way outta town.
    Any body wanna go teach a couple tards how to catch Silvers on Ship creek? We intend to keep only 1 or two as we are hiking for a week. Anybody want to offer advice? Is there something I have forgotten?
    My name is nick.
    I have been on the site for years and have spoken to Mike personally.
    I have helped out on several occasions those who requested advice.
    I gladly accept honey-hole locations.
    I have probably been to Alaska 12 times or so.
    I smell good.
    (for those who would berate me for soliciting advice)

Thanks, Nick

If you are fishing the high tide, I would suggest throwing a 3-4 size Vibrax on the incoming and outgoing tides. On the high tide I would sink roe. This would apply to most of the areas. Although 14-20 line may be overkill since many of the Silvers I have seen this year have been well below 10 pounds...

a #6 blue vibrax will catch every fish in Alaska.....

Now that sounds like great advice!! I feel like you guys are practically placing the fillets in my cooler!! I figured heavier line in hopes that I don't break before my neighbor--bad guess?
    Vibrax....Check!! Where would I pick up some eggs?
    thanks again

You can get them at the Bait Shop located right on Ship. Good luck!

2000 Bayliner Ciera Express 2452
    5.0 Mercruiser Alpha 1