Thread: Place to Shoot in Eagle River

Default Place to Shoot in Eagle River

I'm new to Eagle River, and was wondering if there is a rifle range or a good place to zero rifles and or do some plinking?

Default Birchwood

Birchwood shooting range behind the Birchwood airport.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Birchwood is $10.00 a day when open to the public, and 175.00 yearly for an EPM. (Exclusive Park Member) With that you can go on days that are not open to the public, and the hours are longer for you.

There is the Rabbit Creek Range, ran by the State of Alaska down near Anchorage.

Check'em both out and make your choice.
    Smitty of the North

Default I'll check it out

Thanks for the info, I'll definately have to check them out. Can a guy go plinking anywhere in the woods, or is there laws against that?

The Muni of Anchorage border extends way out, so you could get yourself into a bind.
    There are several old places where people used to go out and plink, but lots of them have been ruined by idiots who chucked bullets all over the place and who trashed the areas by bringing out old TVs and microwaves to shoot up.
    The same thing happend out in the valley. Too many knuckle heads trashing out old gravel pits. So people started to block them off.

The Birchwood range is VERY nice. They have multiple ranges, a snack shack and all sorts of goodies. If you are in Eagle River already it would be a shorter drive to that range than to any other place in the woods that might be legal for your area.

Plus there are a bunch of nice folks who also shoot at Birchwood. Visit with a few of them and you might end up shooting Cowboy Competition or Sporting Clays within a few months.

If you were military, res, guard or retired, you could obtain access to the off duty range on Ft Rich. Although we found that the paperwork, sign in and military BS sometimes made driving to Birchwood preferable.