Thread: To much smoke on fish???

Default To much smoke on fish???

I'm new to smoking fish and I've followed one of the simple recipies from the forum. I'm using a little chief and the fish has been in for 6 hours and the small pieces are getting done at this point and they taste great!

My question is how long should I keep smoke on the fish? I've pretty much had it on them the entire time. I'm on my third pan. I'm planning on smoking them for about 8 hrs.

thanks

The easy answer is that the amount of smoke should be "to taste right to you".

Most would say you're slightly over smoking now. I say pour the smoke on; just watch the ambient smoker temp and the meat temp.

To read a fillet with an instant read thermometer you have to hit it within the first couple seconds of opening up the smoker; 120 F max would keep you from over-kippering.

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by FamilyMan View Post
    The easy answer is that the amount of smoke should be "to taste right to you". . .

. . . . smoking salmon is at least as much art as it is science, probably more . . go for it . .

If you are going to can it/jar it. three smoke pans are enough unless you like dried out squaw candy. I like mine moist and even add a tablespoon of olive oil to keep it moist. Are you canning it? the canning process alone cooks the fish
    If a dipnetter dips a fish and there is no one around to see/hear it, Did he really dip?

Good point whop. Me too; it it'll be canned I make sure to not get the fillets all the way "done", so maybe their internal temp might be 100F or at most 110F.

And there are some fine points too, like:

- put the correct "finish" on your smoked fillets by adding 15 degrees F to the smoker temp for the final 10 minutes
    - dust the fillets with fresh ground pepper before putting fillets into smoker