Thread: Delta Clear Water

Default Delta Clear Water

Planning on taking my girl down there to teach her how to fly fish. Planning on targeting grayling, but are there any other species in the water this time of year? I know kings are hitting the Salcha and Chena, but do they push up into Delta? Just want to make sure I have all the right tackle for any fish we may run into...

Quote Originally Posted by Ak_Predator View Post
    Planning on taking my girl down there to teach her how to fly fish. Planning on targeting grayling, but are there any other species in the water this time of year? I know kings are hitting the Salcha and Chena, but do they push up into Delta? Just want to make sure I have all the right tackle for any fish we may run into...
    Hey Ak Predator. I am no expert, but I am a Dad and I have fished the Delta Clearwater. I wouldn't recommend this particular river for LEARNING how to fly fish. It is a fantastic river. And there are some monster grayling in there, but it is kind of a hard place for a kid to bank fish. And unless you got a boat, you will have a hard time teaching her. Not only that, but it is hard to teach a kid how to fly fish out of a boat. My suggestion would be to take her to the Tangle Lakes along the Denali Highway. That is a perfect place in my opinion to teach a kid to fly fish. Because the river between the two lakes is very shallow and safe, and the river corridor is wide enough that she can cast and not get tangled up in the bushes. That's my two cents. Others on here like Rock Skipper, Jedi Master Salmon Slayer, AK Nook, and BigCox fish fish there a lot, so they may have some better advice for you. Good luck. Post some pics when she catches her first fish. Oh, and to the best of my knowledge all there is in the Delta Clearwater right now is grayling and whitefish. In late September, early October, Silver Salmon run up it.