Thread: Relocating from Georgia to Anchorage- am I doomed?

Default Relocating from Georgia to Anchorage- am I doomed?

Hi all,

I am planning a move to Anchorage in the next two months or so, maybe October. I have no real cold weather experience and am unsure what I'm in for. I will also be flying there, and will have no car. I'm wondering if I should buy a car here and drive it to Anchorage, or should I buy a car there? I've been told that buying a car in AK would be more expensive. If I could potentially live within half a mile of my job, would I be able to walk, ride a bike, or bus to work? I'm sure I'll need a car eventually, but hoping I can get away with not having one for a month or two. Is October too cold to walk to work?

I'm also curious about Native Alaskan culture. I'll be working as a nurse at ANMC (hopefully) and I'm not sure what cultural differences to expect from any Native patients. Hoping to increase my level of understanding (and also decrease the chances of offending anyone.) I'd like to know a little bit more about the history. Any reading material or insights?

Thanks!

Tyler

[QUOTE=temp235;1147690]Hi all,

I am planning a move to Anchorage in the next two months or so, maybe October. I have no real cold weather experience and am unsure what I'm in for. I will also be flying there, and will have no car. I'm wondering if I should buy a car here and drive it to Anchorage, or should I buy a car there? I've been told that buying a car in AK would be more expensive. If I could potentially live within half a mile of my job, would I be able to walk, ride a bike, or bus to work? I'm sure I'll need a car eventually, but hoping I can get away with not having one for a month or two. Is October too cold to walk to work?