Thread: A delightful fly fishing dilemma!

Default A delightful fly fishing dilemma!

My 19 year old daughter has just this year taken to fly fishing with dad, and I'm delighted! We've spent some quality time casting dry flies to arctic grayling on the Chena River here in the Fairbanks area, but she wants to catch some silvers on the fly as well.

Thanks to magazine work and a past love of floating wilderness rivers, I've experienced some of the finest fly fishing in Alaska. But I can't afford the time or the cash to take her on a remote fly-out trip this year, and I don't want to sour her with introducing her to combat fishing at this point. Besides, I've had little experience over the last 40+ years with fishing the Parks Highway streams and don't know if this is the best bet for her.

I'm thinking maybe a day long float trip with a guide? Or maybe have Mahay's take us up the Talkeetna and drop us off where hopefully I can get her hooked up on quite a few silvers?

I'm just not sure what to do for her, but I want to strike while the interest is there. We like to wade rather than just float.

Open for suggestions from my cyber friends! I'm in a delightful dilemma!

Jim

Try going up to Ophir Creek at the west end of the Nome Creek Road. You can drive up - no guide or charter required. Also, if you're interested in a guided trip you might try the Arctic Grayling Guide Service trips up the Nenana. I haven't gone out with them but I used to work with Laura and got the impression that she's fastidious and would provide an excellent day of fishing.

Most of the Parks streams aren't too bad - if you can fish mid-week & stay away from the mouths of the streams.
    Talkeetna is a good choice, too.

Quote Originally Posted by Gary View Post
    Most of the Parks streams aren't too bad - if you can fish mid-week & stay away from the mouths of the streams.
    Talkeetna is a good choice, too.