Thread: Pros/cons of switching to compound?

Default Pros/cons of switching to compound?

I started shooting and hunting with a recurve 30 years ago and hung it up for a number of reasons 18 years ago. Pulled it out again yesterday, shot 40 arrows and it kicked my butt. I feel like someone beat me with a ball bat today. I'm sure I can get in shape again, but I'm wondering if a compound would be kinder to old joints and not have such a steep curve to get my bow muscles in hunting shape. I've shot a few compounds, but not for any sustained amount of time and not in a hunting situation. Anyone made the switch from recurve to compound and have some advice to offer?

i shoot both , much prefer the recurve.....lighter physical wt and alot more fun to shoot and less things to go wrong that need to be tinkered with. i hate to have to tinker with the bows. you tend to use different muscles with recurve and compound.
    if you are going to shoot regularly stick with the recurve......besure you are not trying to shoot too much wt.
    if not shooting regularly the compounds are very nice and smooth. again don't be "over bowed" 60 lbs will kill anything in North America. my recurves are 56# + #57 and compound is @ #60.
    newer recurves are also alot smoother than bows 30 years ago. some of the older ones used to stack esp if you draw more than 28".
    if you switch to compound and plan on shooting fingers do not get too short ( axle to axle) of a bow. probably want at least 37" min. longer the better. i would also look at single cam style. shoot some different makes find the one that feels the best for you.
    -Pat
    RETIRED U.S.A.F. CAPT.; LIFETIME MEMBER NRA; LIFETIME MEMBER ALASKA BOWHUNTER ASSOC.
    MASTER BOWHUNTER EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR; MEMBER UNITED BLOOD TRACKERS; POPE & YOUNG MEASURER

Default traditional vs. modern