Thread: stockingfoot, breathable waders

Question stockingfoot, breathable waders

I started wearing Teva water shoes 5 years ago as my primary canoe and riverine hunting boots. I've been using neoprene waist waders for several years, now, with the water shoes. The system works quite well for me. However ... I'd like to explore the purchase of a breathable pair, as long as they are reasonably tough, and, perhaps have a pocket(s). The most likely pair I've seen, so far, are the Patagonia Gunnison wading pants ... a little pricey, but that's life. Experience, suggestions and reviews appreciated.

Note ... I am looking for information on waterproof/breathable waders ... not just waist waders; chest or hippers as well as waist waders. Which of the available wp/breathable waders fabric systems are worth considering. Tough, decent fit, long lived, etc. What works for you Alaskan experts? Thanks.

Sheep hunting...... the pain goes away, but the stupidity remains...!!!

Thanks, 4merguide. I had hoped that those who've used wp/breathable waders, boot or sockfoot, would give info on which are the brands that work or didn't work for them. What are the good brands ... Orvis, Frogtoggs, Cabelas, Patagucci, or any of the other brands? Who are the good makers? I don't know where to look for Alaskan proven breathable waders.

Just 55 miles north of ANC ... on the lake

I picked up a set of G4 breathable waders from SIMMS this year at our local Fly Fishing Store in the valley...they have been excellent in all aspects, tough, comfortable and functional...Pricey, but you get what you pay for..I do not expect to have to replace them for a LONG LONG time...They also have several boots styles that make hiking very manageable...good luck