Thread: Halibut Habitat out of Seward

Default Halibut Habitat out of Seward

I've been fishing Homer and Seward now for about 10 years now for Halibut. I've always looked for sandy bottoms with drop offs and done well, mostly out of Homer. Seward, Not so much. Not too much sand out of seward that I've been able to find on charts. I've got a few holes that I've done decent on but they are hot one week and cold the next in the Chiswell area. I've never really gone left yet. We've had some luck catching a few while drifting over rock piles for Yelloweye and Lings but few and far between. What kind of terrain do you fish? Mud to Rock Lines? Mud? Rock? Gravel? River Mouths when Salmon are running?

Looking for any pointers as I will fish Seward exclusively at the end of this month into August. Any 100+ pound Hens get a picture and released. As much as I love Homer, shutting down Tanner Crab this year has put me into gear to set shrimp pots and prospect out of Seward and fish as well for Halibut, Rockfish, Silvers and Lings. While your out there, if you see the Danielle Rae, give me a shout! Those willing to share will get Shrimp Reports if I have any sucess finding shrimp.

Advice I've been given but haven't had a chance to try out yet is to fish the points where the bays to the NE enter the gulf in 180-300' of water, Day Harbor et al.
    Those that are successful in Alaska are those who are flexible, and allow the reality of life in Alaska to shape their dreams, vs. trying to force their dreams on the reality of Alaska.

If you have a tenuous grasp of reality, Alaska is not for you.

Thanks Paul, I'll give it a try. A little surprized, 135 looks and 1 reply. Must be tough out there! LOL Thanks Skinny for the PM!!!

Quote Originally Posted by chico99645 View Post
    Thanks Paul, I'll give it a try. A little surprized, 135 looks and 1 reply. Must be tough out there! LOL Thanks Skinny for the PM!!!