Thread: Ground loop

Default Ground loop

I will get straight to the point;

Is ground loop really a big problem for conventional geared aircraft?

I am a Army Blackhawk pilot stationed at Fort Wainwright and now I am looking to purchase an aircraft for myself. I have pretty limited experience with fixed wing flight. A lot of what I read makes ground loop out to be something that happens all the time and is incredibly dangerous. Common sense based on seeing hundreds of old tail draggers still around leads me to believe this is not the case. The Blackhawk has conventional style landing gear, and we use it for rolling take offs and landings similar to that of an airplane. The Blackhawk has a locking pin that can be engaged/disengaged from the cockpit that locks the tailwheel in place preventing the tail end from coming loose and the aircraft spinning?

Why are similar devices not installed on conventional geared aircraft and would they be effective in preventing ground loop?

For those who have flown both helicopters and conventional geared aircraft, would my helicopter experience benefit me in the idea that I would already be familar with an increased requirement for pedal control?

Thank you.

Mike

Ground loops are not that frequent, although many tailwheel airplanes have one in their history (if it was recorded). Some models are more likely to groundloop than others and require more vigilance. On the locking tailwheel, some heavier airplans have them, but I'm not aware of any in the below 3000 lb gross weight class. Good instruction and lots of practice will make a groundloop unlikely in reasonable wind conditions. The main thing is to always anticipate the airplane and get on the rudder before something bad starts to happen.

The only two ground loops that I have been involved with occured while instructing pilots who already had tail-wheel experience but who were rusty.