Thread: Caribou and sheep hunts?

Default Caribou and sheep hunts?

Wondering if anyone can help me understand the hunts for caribou.

I am new to hunting - moose hunt and some small game this past year were my first hunts - but I am hooked. I went on the winter registration hunt for caribou on the Taylor Highway, but emergency order pushed it back to Mile 129 and although we went to Mile 140, we didn't see anything to shoot.

I am just trying to figure out how to do the General Season hunts. All I knew about were the permit and registration hunts, but I see there is a general season and there are HT's for it, so does anybody care to help point me on where to go for caribou or sheep in the general season? Mainly interested in getting a caribou. I know the sheep thing is kind of tight-lipped.

BTW, I am in the Valley.

The only general season caribou that is off the highway is the Haul Road hunt. That's a long drive and a lot of hiking if you fo not archery hunt.

For registration caribou there is the 40 Mile, White Mountain, and Macomb Plateau hunts, there might be more but those are all I can think of right now.

Get a copy of the new regulations and sit down and start reading them. You will get it figured out. First figure out what species you want to hunt then figure out what areas you currently have access to or can gain access to then see what the seasons and requirements are for those areas.

if caribou is what you are after, hope for the steese white mountain hunt in the winter or the 40 mile in the late summer. have attempted the macomb plateau hunt and if you cant fly in you have a hell of a walk. That area is controlled use if I remember correctly, which means no wheelers, and the caribou bulls there are very large, 300lbs plus. good luck and learn to shoot a bow, go up to the haul road

Thanks for the help, guys.

Bronco - that is what I have been doing. Just wasn't seeing where the general season hunt applied to, but I found it.