Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Halibut Help

Default Halibut Help

I am hoping you guys can help. I am very new to this, as in I've been out 4 times ever all this summer. I was wondering what type of structure you guys halibut fish in? Big drops? Flat tops? Totally flat bottoms? Depths? I'm having a hell of a time catching anything over about 15lbs out of Whittier and we've been going out to the knight island area. Most of the halibut we have caught have been ping pong paddles. I'd sure like to be able to justify spending the time and money a little better.we've tried fishing along ledges in about 100-250ft drifting and also very gradual slopes but can't seem to get into very nice fish. I know I asked a similar question not to long ago. I was on a charter a few weeks back but they only put 2 fish in the boat. Do you fish the top of structures and anchor or fish the bottoms? I could really use some good knowledge here on halibut. I seem to be great at slaying yellow eye but not doing too hot on halibut. Thanks and you can pm me or reply.

Alaska - I wasn't born here, but I got here as soon as I could!

I've had the same problem. I tried for years to figure out how to catch halibut out of Whittier without much success. I gave up on Whittier and choose to put a few more miles on the truck and way less hours on the boat by fishing out of Seward. The difference in cost overall is a wash, but the success rate for halibut out of Seward is greatly increased.