Thread: Probably a stupid question....

Default Probably a stupid question....

But I am new to duck hunting and had a hard time on my own last season trying to find ducks. I am just wondering how to know if a lake is legal to hunt ducks on. I looked on the F&G site and didn't see anything, and I saw ducks on a number of lakes around but there were so many houses on the lakes, I just figured it wasn't legal or safe. Is there a way to find out? Thanks.

I'd probably stay away from Cheney Lake and Jewel Lake but some of the lakes over toward the Knik have hunting opportunities. Be a little more specific and folks will point you in the right direction.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.

Read past posts on here, there are lots and lots of hunting areas discussed, some in detail. If you post your general location, some from that area might give you some idas. It shows you have 300 posts on here, so you should have some idea. Bud
    Wasilla

Probably the first thing you need to do is to check where the lake is located. For example, lakes in Anchorage are illegal because it is illegal to discharge a firearm within the city limits. There are some firearm restricted areas in the Mat Su from what I recall, but I don't know the details. You would want to check out the Mat Su Borough laws. Fish and Game will mostly just refer to local laws rather than go into the details of each area.

In order for anyone to help you, you need to state your location. We can give you all kinds of advice about Anchorage, but if you live in Bethel or Fairbanks its meaninless and wastes our time.

Most lakes with constructed access roads from the Knik river south to Girdwood are Anchorage city parks and no waterfowl hunting with guns or bows is allowed. There are exceptions for falcontry hunting though in some areas of town. The bigger lakes with homes - and no park land - on them are covered by the small game rules for 14C and generally no hunting allowed.