Thread: New to AK trout flyfishing

Default New to AK trout flyfishing

Hello everyone! As the title says, I'm very new to flyfishing for trout up here. I'd appreciate any advice on where to go, what patterns to try etc. I'm out of Wasilla so anything within a few hours would be great! I went with a buddy to the Little Susitna this morning and didn't scare up a single fish. I don't have a boat or pontoon etc yet so I will be going on foot for the foreseeable future. Any help and advice would be VERY greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

Pretty much all the rivers have trout in them, but know the regs and eos for the section of river you're on. Willow and Montana are good bets, but watch the restrictions. KB lakes are good as well. You can rent a boat at Kepler, if you want.

You don't have pm privileges as of this moment, so don't think nobody wants to offer help.

Any of the streams north of you have trout in them. Willow, Little Willow, Sheep, Montana. The usual patterns work. Bugs and Beads possibly. I remember catching a lot on dries on sunny days also. Blue Duns in particular. Good Luck!

Fish On!
    You know your not catching any fish when you start talking about the weather...

http://www.alaskansalmonslayers.com/

Quote Originally Posted by sibir View Post
    Pretty much all the rivers have trout in them, but know the regs and eos for the section of river you're on. Willow and Montana are good bets, but watch the restrictions. KB lakes are good as well. You can rent a boat at Kepler, if you want.

You don't have pm privileges as of this moment, so don't think nobody wants to offer help.
    Thanks for the advice, gonna try the lakes and possibly some of the streams/rivers this weekend!

Quote Originally Posted by bigcox View Post