Thread: 17 hmr for beaver?

Default 17 hmr for beaver?

I'm thinking of trying this, this fall. Anyone have any experience shooting them with the 17hmr or another preferred round? How did it work?

I have seen some footage of the 17HNR being used in Canada for beaver hunting and it seemed to work great. Most areas of AK, including where I live, it isn't legal to shoot them so I have no personal experience.

Only with a head shot from the side in clear shallow water, otherwise, you are just killing something for the hell of it. Beaver are unbelievably tough.

This guy uses a 17HMR in Canada. His lab Charlie "the beaver retriever" is pretty darn cool to!

(Note** coarse language. I like this guys videos but be aware he uses the f-bomb in his conversational English.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RhFsDJ0CAxA&feature=plcp

Alright Charlie! So I dropped the ball and put a Savage 93R17 left handed .17 HMR on Layaway! Can't wait. Beavers beware.

They expire just fine using a 17 or 22LR to the head. Sometimes it's the back of the head but it still works.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

Quote Originally Posted by H20Dogg View Post
    I'm thinking of trying this, this fall. Anyone have any experience shooting them with the 17hmr or another preferred round? How did it work?
    You had to ask, and I have to speculate.

That diminutive 17 caliber isn't enough gun for anything ceptin tweety birds, voles, pollywogs, grasshoppers, and such.

Judging from the size of the beavers I've seen I wouldn't shoot at'em with anything less than a 22 Mag. with 50 grain bullets.

Besides, with a 5 mph wind, the bullets would float away, and you wouldn't be able to hit anything at any real distance, anyway.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

Quote Originally Posted by Smitty of the North View Post