Thread: Compact vs quality

Default Compact vs quality

I thin I've decided between two scopes one the vortex razor hd the other leupold goldring hd the leupold is small compact and 40 times magnification great clarity and compact but not as much as the vortex which is also a 60 times magnification. Not sure which way is best to go the smaller less magnifies butter compact way or better clarity and magnification but bigger and Its quit a bit bigger I'll be stationed in the Fairbanks area going to buy in the next few days please any feedback would help

---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?l4noli

I would go with quality. I have bought several VORTEX Vipers recently and like them more than my leupolds. They are a great scope for the money, I have read of people having problems with the lower end vortex scopes but not the vipers. I have no experience with the razor, but since it is a step above the viper I think it would be a winner. Might look at Nightforce also they make a great product that is bullet proof and customer service is superb. A little more than the Razor though.

Are you talking spotting scopes?

The very BEST that you can afford will save you money in the long run, and enhance the quality of your Alaska outdoor experiences.

Really depends on what you are doing. I switched to an 85mm spotter so I could judge rams at 2+ miles, but I like sheep hunting more than most. However, for general purpose moose and caribou I think the big glass is excessively heavy and bulky. Takes up most of my day pack! You aren't going to go wrong with either one, but suspect you would actually carry the Leupold more. And a really nice spotting scope doesn't do you any good back at the truck...

Yk

I would not go with any 60x unless it's a high end (german) 80-85mm. And even then, I personally wouldn't buy it because of the weight and size.