Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Soldotna area or Palmer/Wasilla area?

Default Soldotna area or Palmer/Wasilla area?

The family and I are planning on making the move to Alaska in December. I have narrowed it down to the Soldotna area or the Wasilla/Palmer area. I have narrowed it down to these 2 areas because my wife wants to finish her teaching degree and these 2 areas have college campuses. I work out of the country 1 month on and 1 month off, so I can live wherever I need to.

I, however, am thinking of other things of course. I want to finish my PPL which I've been working on for dang near 12 years now. I have 55 hours and everything that the FFA requires for a PPL. All I need is to be prepped for a checkride. I have had to worst luck with instructors. They were either are too old and lost their medicals or too young and got a real job. Where I am living in Arkansas now, there ain't an instructor for 125 miles.

If we decide Soldotna, can someone tell me an instructor that can finish me out? And the same for the Wasilla/Palmer area.

Thank you all.

Beisdes instructors, there are a few other things to think about.

The "VALLEY" has become a bedroom community for Anchorage, thus the crime and assorted dirt-bags that come with Anchorage have seeded themselves into the valley. It is a very populated area. While you may be out of the country for half the year, your family will have to live there full time. I lived between Palmer and Wasilla for 8 years and it steadily became worse every year. I worked for the State and made my living arresting the dregs of society. Between Anchorage and the Valley business was too good. Lots of old time valley families have moved out. Their farms being sub-divided into housing tracts. BUT... If you had to work in Anchorage, it is a viable option.