Thread: CBR as family pet?

Default CBR as family pet?

I have no experience or interest in hunting but have been looking into getting a puppy. I have two geriatric mutts at home that can't hike or run anymore. I did a breed questionaire and Chesepeake Bay Retreivers were top of the list for our lifestyle. Summers we hike, bike, camp and fish a lot so I think we could keep a dog happy and active. I'm wondering about winter though? Are walks enough to keep a Chessie happy? Does anyone skijor with them or do agility competitions in the winter? I'd be interested in anyone's take on who makes a good owner for a Chessie. Are they happy being pets (as opposed to working dogs)? Thanks!

Hi Katie,

I have a young female Chessie (almost 2). She is an archtypical Chessie: very sensitive, fiercely loyal, protective (slow to warm up to strangers), determined but at times stubborn, athletic and energetic. She's also a bit of a diva and will pout when she's unhappy.

Daily walks are good but not enough. Every walk should be a training session, if nothing else than to reinforce basic commands. Chessie's require a commitment from you. They are not low-maintenance dogs and cannot be simply fed and ignored. When my dog misbehaves it's almost always after 2 or 3 days of inadequate exercise. She LOVES the water and if I let her, she'd swim after bumpers until she drowned. Any regular, vigorous exercise is good for a Chessie. As for skijoring? Probably. Mine is very cold tolerant (she loves to porpoise through snow over her head).