Thread: Willow creek and little willow creek

Question Willow creek and little willow creek

Im new to Alaska floating and I am looking for the best resource for river conditions. I looked at the Alaska river forecast site, but I am looking for current information re: log jams, sweepers, etc.

Any advice on floating these two creeks for a novice? From what i've read, Shirley towne bridge on down is class I and 2 and little creek is good but a long float. What advice is there re: the willow state park take out?

What other rivers/creeks would you recommend for class 1 and 2?

Thank you.

Portage creek. Little su (especially with king closure should be quiet). Come to mind as low commitment easy water in the area.

Floats are straightforward, scout out takeouts before hand and you'll be good to go.

Also the susitna from talkeetna to the parks hwy bridge will give you a big glacial Alaskan river setting but a low commitment beginners float near civilization.

Floated two different sections of Willow Creek over two consecutive weekends and had two entirely different experiences. Both times I took the whole family, myself, wife and our daughters 11, 10 and 8. I am fairly experienced, while my gals are not as much. Both floats were a first for us, but, I had done some research and kinda knew what to expect.

First trip, we used a Sotar SP-13 raft to float from the Parks Highway down to the confluence with the Susitna. Had a great Class 1 trip, took about 3.5 hours.