Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chugach Primitive Tent Camping

Default Chugach Primitive Tent Camping

Hey all,
    New here, and looking for some information. I will be traveling to Chugach National Forest in a few weeks, and heading down to around Girdwood, and then further down the Highway 1. I am a nature photographer looking to find a place I can set up camp for about 2 weeks. I am not looking to pay for camping but looking more for primitive camping as I enjoy getting away from people and enjoying the scenery. Are there any good places (dirt roads, etc) where I can set up camp? Your favorite locations?

GPS coordinated are ok if that is easier.

Thanks so much in advance!

-Ian

Most people desiring to get away from other people wouldn't camp next to roads (gravel or otherwise).

Why not use the campgrounds? As they are equipped to handle the swarms of tourists, campers, and nature photographer(s). It costs a little money ... bu then many of the campgrounds are funded from public funds .. and the private campgrounds help the locals to make a living.

Some people like it quiet. Going to have to walk or bike in that part of the world to get to a campsite away from most human noise.

Interior AK is where you want to be for the sort of camping you are looking for...but it's not the kenai pen.

I agree though, that the campgrounds are superior experiences, we don't give them enough credit. Avoid the Russian R. Campground and you will have a most pleasant time.

But basing out of a vehicle on the kenai pen in the summer is not an experience that brings to mind primitive for me.

Most people think just driving in AK and not having cell reception is primitive though...