Thread: set up new spot

Default set up new spot

Well after spending $50 bucks a day in 15A for the last 3 weeks feeding nothing but brown bears I decided to set up a new spot last nigt about 75 miles away. Let hope this one produces a blackie. Im ganna let the other one dry out of a week or 2 then rebait it again if the same thing starts happening again im pulling it.

All you can do is try. Can't get away from brown bear on the KP, just got to hope that a blackie sneaks in one night while you are on stand. The days of having black bear constantly around your bait site on the KP are over.

Amen to that, ive been baiting the kp for 20 years and have never seen it this bad with the browns. I remenber the good ole days of having 3 blacks feeding at the same time and instead of having 5-6 browns and 1 black it was the other way around. Oh well just keep tryin.

I feel lucky this year with only two brownies on mine and one small black here in 15A. Unlike a friend of mine that has eight browns on his and one set of them is a sow and four yes four cubs he finally pulled his bait and gave up for the year. The KP is ridiculous with browns

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Hopefully the October registration hunt will help out with that brownie problem...

Quote Originally Posted by kingman View Post
    Hopefully the October registration hunt will help out with that brownie problem...
    It's going to take a lot more than one October registration season that will be lucky to last a week.

This is true but it is also a step in the right direction!

Quote Originally Posted by kingman View Post
    Can you provide some details on this hunt? I went and looked at fish and game's website but couldn't find anything.

I only know about it because I talked to the wild biologist down toward homer. But there is a thread out there that talks about it in the regular hunting forum.