Thread: Thwarts???

Default Thwarts???

Hello,

I'm new to rafting, and this website/forum (which is awesome by the way), and have a general question. Do I need to have the thwarts in my boat, an NRS Otter 140, if I have a rowing frame on it? We floated on the Chena River yesterday for it's maiden voyage and I was thinking that on future floats, especially after we work up to overnight trips, that there would be more room in it for stuff without the thwarts.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by wsh2fsh View Post
    Hello,

I'm new to rafting, and this website/forum (which is awesome by the way), and have a general question. Do I need to have the thwarts in my boat, an NRS Otter 140, if I have a rowing frame on it? We floated on the Chena River yesterday for it's maiden voyage and I was thinking that on future floats, especially after we work up to overnight trips, that there would be more room in it for stuff without the thwarts.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    It depends on what you're doing with the boat. If you're paddle rafting, thwarts make great seats for your paddlers, provide additional floatation in heavy whitewater, and provide side-impact stability to the boat if you broach against a rock in fast water.

For float hunting, I either remove them or deflate them and load gear in their place. Saves a ton of room. We get away with not using them because we're not paddle rafting (and therefore don't need them for seats for our paddlers), and we are floating slow Class I-II rivers where the risk of side impact and the need for heavier floatation are not factors.

Hope it helps!

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501