Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Adak caribou hunting

Default Adak caribou hunting

I am planning a hunting trip to Adak Island for Caribou inSept. or Oct. of 2013. I am new to planning a trip like this and I am lookinghelp. I am trying to find any and all information I can. What I have been able to find so far is that itís windy all the time and the bull numbers are down.
    If anyone has any information on hunting there i.e. Contacts,where to stay not stay, what to bring not to bring, or where to find moreinformation that would be a great help. Also any stories good or bad would be ahuge help.
    Thanks

Although I've never been, it's the last place I'd go for caribou. I'm sure for the money that you could do a fly out in the brooks and have a chance at some big bulls, bulls you'd never see on Adak.

I have been, and it's the first place I would go to fill the freezer. For all of $280, I did fill my freezer. I wouldn't waste the money on a brooks range hunt. Do you have an Alaskan Airlines card? If so, you can fly out there for free. Unfortunately, Alaska has quit their contract and penn air is taking over. You may not be able to get enough meat back to make it worth it.

Our group of nine (including two 11 year olds and a 16 year old) got 22 Bou. They desperately need to be thinned out soon or there will be a population crash.

Having hunted both places I would go back to Adak befor I went back to the Brooks. The population is up and there are some big bulls out there. And you are only limited by you ability to fly the meat out and the amount of ammo you bring.

Search on here for Adak and you will find most of the information you need. There also is a webpage under the hunt planning section of this site. Mike will be along soon to post up a link to it if you do not find it on your own searches for the past threads on Adak.