Thread: Spotting scope

Default Spotting scope

Been looking at a few different options at spotting scopes. Hope maybe some could comment.

First is the leupold compact- heard it has a difficulty at long distances

Next Leupold Gold ring HD Heard it has a difficulty zooming and tracking moving game.

Not familar with any Nikon products any comments would be nice on them

P.S. Swaro although would be nice not an option way to poor.

Depending on what you're looking for- the Zeiss Dialyt is a pretty great scope for the dollars expended and engineered for hunting.

I've been using one for a bit and it's been great. Doug at Cameraland has demos come up now and again for under $1K.
    "I do not deal in hypotheticals. The world, as it is, is vexing enough..." Col. Stonehill, True Grit

I've been using a Leupold Gold Ring 12x40x60 (non-HD) for over 10 years and have not experienced the issues you mention. It's a nice scope. The reason I haven't traded up to a Swazi yet is because this scope works well. Good luck.

I like my Pentax PF65 ED II pretty good for the money. If you can swing it then forum sponsor doug at Cameralandny.com has pretty decent demo's. An age old classic is the Nikon Spotter XL in one of it's many iterations. More recently Vortex has come on pretty good with their spotters.

A call to Doug with your budget will likely get you pointed in the right direction.

If you're on a LOW budget and want a decent spotter there is a Bushnell Elite 15-45x60 for sale in the Swap and Sell now for 275. Same type/quality as the Nikon XL mentioned above. Excellent value for what he's asking. If you can afford more like 5-700 look at the Pentax PF 65 ED scope.
    A gun is like a parachute. If you need one, and donít have one, youíll probably never need one again