Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Any bamboo flyrod lovers out there?

Default Any bamboo flyrod lovers out there?

I was just wondering if there were any folks around on the forum that share an interest in bamboo flyrods. I've been collecting bamboo rods now for about 10 or 12 years, and so far have about 6 or 7, several of which are just cheap wall hangers. I do have a couple Grangers that I have fished occasionally, one needs to be refinished for sure and the other could probably use it also. I have a Ron Kusse Quadrate, that he custom made for me about 7 years ago that I have never fished and only put it together once. Probably a shame, but this rod cost a small fortune (for me anyway), and I'm having a real difficult time bringing myself to fish it. Anyway, I just thought I'd bring it up to see if anyone else up here shared my enthusiasm for fishing with grass.

I love the fight on a bamboo rod, there is nothing like a great grass rod.
    I have a few, one is a CM Kreider that I inherited from Grampa. The family story is that it was the last one he made, after he made the Duke one.
    I used to take it out, but haven't for a few years. I get more worried about the rod than losing the fish.
    Live life and love it
    Love life and live it

I have an old South Bend (I think) that I haven't used in years. I am planning on using it at least some this year though. How much different are the better rods though? Mine is about 8' or 8'6" for a HDH line. It casts well but it's heavy and really slow, but it's fun to use.

---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?zph5by

I didn't know they made rods out of anything else. Actually, that's a lie. I just recently got into bamboo rods.

I own a sharpes 12'9" 3/2 8wt Spliced Ferrule Spey
    E.C. Powell 9'6" 3/2 7 wt
    Bob Clay is building me a 12'6" 3/2 7/8wt five sider spliced spey. Should be done by October this year.