Thread: looking for advise

Default looking for advise

hi names Jon look to gain a little knowledg. i am a soldier that has just been assigned to jber ak back in july 2011 and deployed right away. wasnt able to get any hunting or fishing in, and looking to be comin back around sept to nov time frame of 2012. as soon as i get home im really wanting to get out and go hunting. looking to just go out have fun bag a nice animal with the wife. wife is missing hunting and so am i. just looking for a little info to maybe put us on some caribou or black tail cause moose will be out of season. really do appreciate your time.
    thanks
    jon

John, I've been in your position (AF). Coming back Sept to Nov time frame leaves a lot of different ooption and conditions. Snow towards the end of Nov and other weather conditions may restrict what can be done then. If you cme back early Sept then options are a little more open. PWS deer will be open but getting there requires a boat and or flight but seas are usually pretty rough that time of year in my limited experience. What do you have for transportation? Are you archery certified? When ever you can narrow it down to timing will help.

im (Active Army) my transportation i have my f250 with a 6" lift and some real nobby tire that can go anywere. and whatever i can rent from the outdoor rec. i use to have a 30' camper but my wife sold it right before i left so i dont have it anymore. no not much into archery much anymore but was thinking about getting back into it with a buddy maybe next year. they are telling us sep to beginning nov but my orders are saying end of oct but you know how things go with deployment orders.