Thread: Hide thickness

Default Hide thickness

I have a goat hide that I want to get tanned. My concern is with the thickness of the hide itself. In some areas it is almost an inch thick! Not fat, not meat, but hide! Can this be tanned as is or does it need to be shaved thinner before tanning?

DO NOT do that part your self !!

We taxidermists & Tanneries have special machines that shave the skins thinner, But we ONLY start that shaving after it is in the pickle process.

Otherwise You will slip the fur.

Sometimes I shave a skin Several times as it soaks up the pickle to get it thin enough for mounting , Before moving that skin to the tan.

Depends on What animal & how dry & thick the skin was.

I tanned the Elephant cape that is mounted on my web site & it started off with places that were 4-5 inches thick, & after I was done tanning it , It was 1/4 inch thick & Very pliable for mounting.

I DO NOT recomend trying to Tan yourself.

I have been doing it myself for over 17 years & it is just plain too much work & you have to understand the ENTIRE process fully before attempting it.

Call me if you have any other questions & I will gladly talk with ya.

RJ Simington
    My Cell # 541 281 7201 Fairbanks

Thanks for the information. I in no way was going to attempt this myself. I was just curious if this is something that is done. I am in the process of finding a taxidermist now. And I just added a black bear hide last night. I was into getting it made into a rug, but I think the back legs were mistakenly cut wrong. So maybe just tanned.

we get miss cuts all the time.

Most of the time it can be fixed pretty easily.

Had anouther guy 3 years ago brought One bear in in 2 bags.

Head UNSKINNED & Cut off body in the other.

When we got it finished you couldnt tell at all.