Thread: DIY arrow repairs

Default DIY arrow repairs

Hey all. I'm new to archery and am looking for some advice on do it yourself arrow repairs. I finally got brave enough to shoot at the 60 yard target and immediatly shot the fletching off one of my arrows. Is it worth trying to replace it yourself or is it better to take the arrow in? Thanks for the help.

Indiana, only because that's where the check came from...

I shoot a lot and am always fixing fletching that comes off or is damaged. Get yourself a fletching jig, I use a Blitzenburger and fixing things like this is rather straight forward. Just clean the shaft of old adhesive, apply a LIGHT coat of new adhesive to your new fletching (vane or feather) and you're good to go. For years I used Bohning's Fletch-Tite glue but recently I've been using AAE Fastset glue. If you use the latter you can literally use the arrow again within 10 minutes or less. If I use the Fletch-Tite, I usually let it sit overnight.

Could always try FOBs. No fetching.
    We do not go to the green woods and crystal waters to rough it, we go to smooth it. We get it rough enough at home; in towns and cities; in shops, offices, stores, banks anywhere that we may be placed

Easy to do yourself. For the field, I carry an Arizona EZ Fletch and superglue or Goat Tuff. If the fetching hasn't come completely off you can carefully re-glue it backin place for a temporary fix. The Bitz jigs are great for at home on the bench but are kinda spendy (~$100 ea) and you can only do one fletch at a time. The EZ fletch will let you do all three at once.

I have a Jo-Jan 6 arrow jig, five Bitz jigs, and two EZ Fletcher's and they all get used.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....