Thread: hull repair?

Default hull repair?

I found a crack on the keel of my boat, I'm no welding expert but someone experienced with repair told me his recommendation would be to cut the section out and weld a patch. Nobody in my area is proficient at welding and he is a retiring teacher and heading home on Monday.

I want to order the supplies I need to fix it so that the next time someone is up here who can do this, it can get taken care of. What specs for a MIG welder should I look at for 3/16" aluminum and where can I get the argon at preferably in Anchorage?
    Attached Images Attached Images

I have no idea bout what size welder you would need, but I think AIH has the gas. That or Air Liquide on Arctic Blvd should be able to take care of you. Seems for the cost of a welder/gas and metal that you could take it to one of the boat shops in Anchorage or the valley and get it fixed, unless this is an excuse to buy a welder...
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson

If it were me i'd get it welded up and call it good. Maybe if possible put a patch on the inside. Give this guy a call he has a mobile welding/repair service in anchorage Robert Geller 350-5506.

Alaska Shrimp Pots

Rigid & Folding Shrimp & Crab Pots
    Electra Dyne Pot Haulers
    Ropes, Buoys, Bait
    alaskashrimppots.com
    akshrimppots@mtaonline.net
    907 775 1692

Do not attempt to MIG 3/16 Alum, unless you REALLY know what you're doing... Mig process will put to much heat into it and it'll blow a big hole thru. Find somebody to TIG it for you, looks like an easy fix