Thread: Question about Raft registration

Default Question about Raft registration

Hi, I'm new to rafting but a few days ago, I bought a used Sevylor HF360 12 foot inflatable raft on Craigslist which came with a 30 pound thrust trolling motor. My question is Do I have to register the raft? I intend to use the raft for the occasional lake trout and pike fishing only. I would like to take the kids out fishing on this raft this weekend, but don't want to end up with a ticket. I read somewhere that you need to register the raft only if you are using a gas powered motor. In this case, I'm am using an electric trolling motor but I really don't know. I could be wrong. Any help or info. would be great. Thanks in advance.

You are right. You only need to register it if you put a gas motor on it. I got a ticket the first time I used a motor on my raft on the middle Kenai. Put some life jackets on the kids and good luck! Rafts are so much fun, you will a blast with your new toy.

Quote Originally Posted by Lee04 View Post
    Hi, I'm new to rafting but a few days ago, I bought a used Sevylor HF360 12 foot inflatable raft on Craigslist which came with a 30 pound thrust trolling motor. My question is Do I have to register the raft? I intend to use the raft for the occasional lake trout and pike fishing only. I would like to take the kids out fishing on this raft this weekend, but don't want to end up with a ticket. I read somewhere that you need to register the raft only if you are using a gas powered motor. In this case, I'm am using an electric trolling motor but I really don't know. I could be wrong. Any help or info. would be great. Thanks in advance.
    Here in Alaska, even an electric motor is considered a mechanical device for propulsion... therefore in terms of Registration - your boat with motor of any kind must show registration, show AK #s, and you must have the certificate on board at all times.