Thread: Memorial day weekend, where would you go

Default Memorial day weekend, where would you go

Well this is my first year with my own boat "woohoo" and my friends and I are trying to plan a memorial day weekend trip but have come to a conclusion that it is hard to plan this out due to the dreaded mother nature. So my questione how do u plan trips in advance? Do u just plan for it hope for the best or wait till the last minute and decide due to weather? Also what are your plans for the up coming weekend? We have either Seward, Whittier or homer depending on weather.

As far as what to do on Memorial Day weekend, I am going to Homer without my boat to help build a new playground. I know its not very outdoorsy but they need help and I have a camper and land there I need to go see.

On any weekend (or any time I have a trip planned) of the summer I try to have a plan A and a plan B. Like next weekend I plan on going out of Whittier to go look for a bear and get some shrimp. If the weather sucks I might go to Homer with the boat if the weather looks better there, or I might just write off the boating and do something else. Kind of depends. Its a fact of life that Mother Nature throws a wrench in your plans once in a while. Whatever you do don't just go and not worry about the weather. Heck last year we went to Seward for a weekend towards the end of June. I had a halibut charter for work to go on and then we were planning on going out and doing some exploring. Our plan B was to just stay tied up in the harbor and go to the sea life center and play in Seward.
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson