Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dogs On Boats

Default Dogs On Boats

I am looking for input/experiences taking dogs out on overnight trips in PWS. I have two 11 month old labs and a 28' aluminum boat. I am new to boating and the first trip out this spring I left the dogs at home. Looking at taking the family out next time and don't want to have to board the dogs. More than anything trying to figure out the logistics of getting them to shore for bathroom breaks and a little exercise so they don't drive us crazy with all their energy? Will this be the nightmare I think it's going to be?

Our dogs go out on our 28' Bayliner all the time. However, they are miniature Australian Shepherds under 30lbs. We don't even take them ashore, as we trained them to "go" on "potty pads" like the ones used for housetraining. We spread the pad out on the back deck and let them know that it's "outside" and okay to "potty". We bag the pads and bring them home with us to the dock. Works well for us, and we never have to go ashore.

Given how rambunctious young Labs are, coupled with their love of water, that may not work for you. I've seen lots of "boat dogs" in PWS, and many folks anchor up in bays with easily-accessible gravel beaches and row or motor the dogs ashore in an inflatable.

I love Labs and have owned a few myself, but they are like crazy toddlers until about 18 months of age. I understand your concerns :-). It may be a good idea to have them leashed up with a harness or shut in the cabin while landing fish until you see how they react to splashing salmon or halibut. Labs love to "fetch", and you don't want one with a hook stuck in its face :-).

Take them along, and spend the trip with a focus on acclimating the dogs to their new environment. They'll either do well and have a great time, or they won't get to go along on future trips! Have fun!!!!