Thread: How to find halibut, rockfish, and ling

Default How to find halibut, rockfish, and ling

Got my first boat this year and I'm new to saltwater fishing. I will probably start with jigging and will be fishing mostly out of Whittier. If you can give me some tips on what to look for I would really appreciate the help.
    "What lies behind you and what lies in front of you, pales in comparison to what lies inside of you."
    Ralph Waldo Emerson

For rockfish & Ling .... 'structure is everything' use your sounder to find underwater hills and peaks and then drift these areas realizing that you are going to lose some jigs. Also ... if you spot a 'baitball' on the sounder, then ... pelagic rockfish, halibut and salmon will attack the food and your jigs.

To steal a line from Terry Rudnick's book "How to catch trophy halibut"

Structure+food source+time of year=fish

find any 2 of those and odds are good. All 3 and odds are great
    Experience is a hard teacher because you get the test first and the lesson afterwards.

Out of Whittier, to consistantly catch fish you need to be willing to burn some gas and cover some mileage, especially for halibut.

But before even heading out, spend some time looking at charts of PWS. Look for areas where it goes quickly from shallow to deep, and areas that get a decent amount of current. Protected waters generally aren't as productive as those that are more open, but there are some underwater pinnacles in bays and passages that can be productive. If you're off the tip of an island and the charts show what looks like an underwater cliff or pinnacle, then drift over that area with your jigs. If the charts indicate a muddy bottom, odds are fishing will be poor.