Thread: Mid June Gulkana float

Default Mid June Gulkana float

We are floating the Gulkana in mid June from Paxton to Sourdough. Although I have a fair amount of rafting experience, I have never done this float before. We are doing early in hopes of missing the larger crowds of king season. Any fly recommendations for the rainbows? Any advice on fishing the lakers at the mouth? Campsites with the best fly fishing opportunities? Has anyone hiked up to Canyon Lake? What kind of water conditions are typical in June? Thanks for your help.

Hi Cig:

This is my back yard and I can help out as needed. The river will be running fast and should be clear. Keep an eye on sweepers in the river as I have been caught off guard below the canyon once back in the late 90's. Heads up!

The section from the outlet on Paxon down to the canyon offers really good fly fishing, I like to toss dry flies in that section as it is quick water and the fishing is fast for sure. The Canyon should be super for both Grayling and Rainbows. Switch over to leech patterns and most bead heads in the eddies. Good fishing and plan on spending overnight and some of the next day in that section. the 6 miles below the falls is very fast and good fishing . Really all the way down to the West Fork is good fishing. The Oxbows is the cut point for goof fishing and where the river slows down a bunch.

Plan on 5 days to do it right. The Canyon Trail is a mess and gets hammered by ATV's and is a really poor choice for hiking. bring your chest waders and a winch!

Fun Trip! Done it many times.

Walt
    Gulkana Rafting
    www.gulkanaraftrental.com
    Attached Images Attached Images

Thanks for the info Walt. We are doing 5 days and 4 nights on the river. What do you know about fly fishing for the lake trout at the the mouth? I would hope that the ice will be out by the second week of June.

Walt sorry I am piggy backing just in my DNA :-)