Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: RFI: Hunting Skills and woodcraft

Default RFI: Hunting Skills and woodcraft

I've been hunting up here for three years now, and have been completely unsucessful.

I grew up hunting in Northern Utah, mostly deer and elk. I know that Moose are not deer and I was hoping that some of you very experienced hunters would be willing to shed some light on hunting skills and woodcraft for Alaska.

for example:

Animal behavior
    animal habitat
    woodcraft
    stalking
    glassing skills
    reading terrain for game trails (old & new),
    recognizing game sign
    etc...

I know that getting out in the woods is the key but it would help if I knew what the heck I was looking for.

Thanks
    Diamond Marquis

moose are REALLY big, sort of dark colored with really, REALLY long legs ! OH, and they smell really well ...

Quote Originally Posted by back country View Post
    moose are REALLY big, sort of dark colored with really, REALLY long legs ! OH, and they smell really well ...
    Thanks for the heads up Lol !!
    Diamond Marquis

just kiddin' with ya ! Actually though, what I have experienced moose hunting was nothing like elk or mule deer huntin', in all seriousness, hunt the wind and mosey around alot - the last guide that hunted me in B.C. had two rules - #1: wind is everything and #2: wind IS everything (but then, thems my rules for coyote hunting too) - One "small" surprise for me was how fast a moose can disappear ! They sort of "look" dumb but I don't think they are ...