Thread: Black Bear in PWS

Default Black Bear in PWS

I am headed out to PWS for the weekend and I am bringing my rifle just in case a black bear presents itself. I am a novice hunter and after reading the reg's and getting my black bear tag online I just wanted to double check with the local experts to make sure I had this all sorted out.

The way it looks to me if I shoot a bear I must salvage the whole thing basically. Meat and hide/skull then have to go to in to get sealed. I figure the chances of me getting a bear are slim but I might as well have my ducks in a row.

Thanks in advance.
    2007 Kingfisher 2825 - Stor Fisk

Civilization ends at the waterline. Beyond that, we all enter the food chain, and not always right at the top. -- Hunter S. Thompson

Yes that is correct Sir. Technically the ribs and neck can be left, but not much more weight to bring the whole carcas. You have 30 days in most units to get it sealed. Obviously it is better just to seal as soon as possible and freeze then continue to the taxi or sell, whatever you decide.

One thing to keep in mind since you're perhaps new to the process -- for a number of years it has been illegal to shoot bear in PWS from a boat. Make sure you are on shore for your final stalk. Good luck, and fair weather! PM or call me at 440-4135 if you'd like free skinning/field prep instructions, as I'm here in Eagle River.

Thanks for the offer of help skinning, if I get real lucky I might take you up on the help. My plan right now is to gut the bear and pull as much meat out of it without damaging the hide, then haul the reminder back to town. I had contacted one of the tannery's in Anchorage and they will skin the animal for a bit extra. I really don't expect to get a bear on this trip but I wanted to be ready just in case.
    I have another hunt planed in a couple of weeks with an experienced bear hunter and unless I see a good bear on the beach begging to be shot I will be passing.