Thread: Float plan ?

Default Float plan ?

Since I'm new to this we filled out a float plan last time. But I was wondering do you guys add a day or 2 extra for return is case you get held up somewhere by weather ? Or does the harbor give you a certain time before they contact someone

Thanks
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

I have never filed a float plan with the Harbor Master. My thought is that I could be lost at sea for 10 years and until the parking lot guy complains because he hasn't been paid for my parking, nobody would know that I was missing. I just tell someone that i know when I expect to be back, and I have a Spot I can use to let my wife know I got delayed.

Thats funny!! I have a spot also but the wife will know where I'm at because shes in the boat also
    PEOPLE SAY I HAVE A.D.D I DON'T UNDERSTA.....OH LOOK A MOOSE !!!

I've heard people hail the Coast Guard on the VHF radio, asking them to call someone to relay a message. So if my wife were with me and we got delayed and I was going to miss work or someone was going to be missing me/us and worry, the CG could make a call. Probably glad to do it to avoid someone calling the CG to report someone overdue and potentially have the CG out looking for someone they think may be in trouble.

That float plan box at the dock is foolish! Who the bleep could actually keep track of that? It's dangerous to think that someone is actually checking that thing. Someone is going to suffer the consequences of it's broken system someday. I always tell someone and have a default plan for time and location, not some stupid box that no one has any ability to actually check or control!

You can hand the float plan to the harbor master if you figure they never check the box.

I don't know if the float plans do any good, I do it more for my wife's piece of mind.