Thread: Chased by a Brown Bear

Default Chased by a Brown Bear

Chased by a Brown Bear

Last spring about this time of the year I went out ptarmigan hunting, I snow-machined approximately 25 miles north of my community to the headwaters of a drainage that we know locally as Warehouse Creek, which is also known to have a few flocks of ptarmigan during the early spring. After leaving the main trail and heading northeasterly for a few miles following stands of willow I spotted a flock of ptarmigan, which numbered about fifty or so. After getting within range I started shooting and was dropping a few birds with my Ruger 10/22 Carbine which was mounted with a Steiner VZF 1.5-6 x 42mm. I had the scope dialed up to six so shots up to fifty yard were fairly easy. After putting a few birds in my gunnysack I spotted a red fox that was also hunting ptarmigan, I guess I was infringing on his hunt. The fox probably was not too thrilled to see me in his hunting territory. Well anyway I shot another bird and drove up to it and stopped my snow-machine. While I was reloading my rifle clip I heard the ptarmigan make a little noise so I looked over and to my surprise there was the red fox, just picking up my bird in it’s mouth and getting ready to run off with it. I was tempted to shoot the fox, but decided not too since I didn’t really need the pelt. So I just watched as he ran off with my bird, he stopped about 30 yards away and started eating the bird. I drove off looking for more ptarmigan in about 10 minutes or so I located the flock again, so I shot a couple more. One of the ptarmigan I shot was only wounded, it started running off heading north away from me. When I was ready to go after it here comes the fox running by my snow-machine chasing after my wounded bird, he zigzagged back and forth chasing the bird and eventually caught it. I watched him carry it off this time he buried the bird under the snow, I guess this was for eating later. After watching the fox do this I was g