Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Bears.What BEARS

Red face Bears.What BEARS

ANY advice to the visiting angler about bears.going to the keni pen in july Mabie hiking in a few miles away from the crowds now and then if we can.Bears have been in the back of my mind.whats the score.I can run faster than my freinds.
    Regards Graham

Default Run first

If you can run faster than your friends, and none of them are armed where they could shoot you in the knee to slow you down, you should be fine.

I am by no means an expert--but I spend a lot of time on the Kenai area rivers--whether floating or walking in to fly fish.

Bears are out in force in July--but only where the fishing is good. I floated the upper Kenai River a couple-to-few times week in April, and then from July-Sept. and saw more bears on the upper river in July than any other time. The reds are in thick then and the bears come out to play. Third week in July we saw 4 brown bears and not sure how many blackies in one trip. My girlfriend said she counted a total of 13 bears---but think she counted some of the blackies twice. We saw three browns on three consectutive floats on the upper Kenai during April. In June when fishing the Russian for the first run of reds it seemed like we saw a bear everytime we walked in. Granted, my buddy and I were trying to avoid crowds (and work) fishing late in the evening and early mornings--fewer people, more bears. They closed the Russian area to fishing overnight in July because of bear activity.

Outside the Kenai, I only saw one blackie down on Deep Creek while fishing silvers.