Thread: Buying a used recurve tips

Default Buying a used recurve tips

Hey all, I have been shooting compound for a few years now and always had an interest in traditional bows. Recently I've found two recurves for sale in my area that seem pretty cheap, a Bear Kodiak Magnum and Pearson Golden Sovereign Emperor. Both are for sale for $50 to 75 asking price. Anyways, I wanted some tips if I were to go look at these bows to make sure they aren't defective or something.

For what its worth I don't know squat really about recurves, so I was honestly looking at making offers on both and trying both out if they are shooters to see which suits me. I'm 6' 2'' tall with some pretty long arms so I know shorter bows might be a problem for me. The Pearson is 66'' and the Bear is 52'' I believe. The Pearson also doesn't have a string on it right now so I'd have to get a new string for it. Any ways to test or check a bow out with no string?

Thanks all, schmidty

I've got a Bear Grizzly 50# here and far prefer it to the 62" Cub target bow; I've got long hammer-swingers as well, and seem to get less string-slap with the shorter bow, don't know why (not bad form, hopefully). 'Bout same accuracy with both. I'd be leery about buying a bow without being able to shoot it, but for $50 it's not that big a deal. Check 'em for cracks or delamination is probably all you need to do.
    " Gas boats are bad enough, autos are an invention of the devil, and airplanes are worse." ~Allen Hasselborg

schmidty,