Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grayling flies

Default Grayling flies

This is my first year to go after grayling up here. I've fished Yellowstone National Park for them and found great success using a Renegade. What seems to work up here?

Elk hair caddis, griffins gnat, and mosquito patterns in a multitude of colors. So much fun spot fishing grayling and nailing em with dry's.

And there are a ton of other fly's that work well, but those listed are my personal favorites.

I've heard that one of the older state records for Grayling, at that time it was caught on a cigarette butt and a hook. Most places they will hit almost anything. Although there are flies that do better than some. For instance, I was out fishing Badger Slough the other night and found great success after trying various flies and an olive colored bead head nymph worked well that night. What I also love about Grayling is that they take almost any dry fly. I find throwing dries to rising Grayling to be some of the finest fishing that Alaska has to offer.

Danner nailed it. Sizes ranged from 14 up to about 10 or so. Black Gnat is also good, as is the Wooly Worm. Bivisibles too (dry). Anything small and "buggy".

-Mike
    LOST CREEK COMPANY: Specializing in Alaska hunt consultation and planning for do-it-yourself hunts, fully outfitted hunts, and guided hunts.
    CLICK HERE to send me a private message.
    Web Address: http://alaskaoutdoorssupersite.com/hunt-planner/
    Mob: 1 (907) 229-4501
    "Dream big, and dare to fail." -Norman Vaughan
    "I have climbed my mountain, but I must still live my life." - Tenzig Norgay

blue dunn works well also.

A better question might be what not to bother with, frankly. Anyway, with the water still this cold skip the dries. Once it warms up a bit you'll do well with renegades here, too.

Quote Originally Posted by mlshore View Post