Thread: cat on east fork chulitna ?

Default cat on east fork chulitna ?

Hello all, I have been searching the threads about all info pertaining to cats and round rafts as I am fairly new to the float thing. I do have buddies with lots of time on the kenai . I have convinced them to go north and do the chulitna float as I own property in the broad pass area and have wanted to do this float for years. We want to put in at the east fork and pull out at the bridge (princess tours). The major concern is if a 16' cat with 3 guys and gear is do able ( early to mid July ) in the east fork for first time floaters of that river? We will also have a round raft with 2 guys all together on the trip. Planning on takeing our time up top, fishing and camping. Then hitting all the tributaries on the main river Any info from experienced floaters of this section of water would be greatly appreciated . Also does anyone know who to contact about using pull out ramp? Worse case we'll pack it out. Thank you

I was with a large group that ran it last memorial day weekend from the east fork put in all the way to the bridge. AMAZING FLOAT. Some of the best scenery I have ever seen on a float trip. There is a lot of wood in the river, so you have to be constantly paying attention. On the East Fork up high, scout the blind corners. There are a lot of sweepers and strainers that you have to line your boat around. We did it with an 18' CAT, 16' CAT and 14' Sotar round boat. We had crazy weather in the high 80s the entire trip. Hot as hell, so the water was high.