Thread: Looking to upgrade is it worth the $$$

Default Looking to upgrade is it worth the $$$

I am looking to upgrade my hunting binoculars to something better. I am looking for something in 10X42. I currently have buris fullfield II's that i have had for several years but i think it is time to up grade!!! I am not really experienced with all the different brands so looking for some one with some knowledge to point me in the right direction. From what i think i know Swarovski's are the best and i would like to have a set but are they really worth the $2499.00 for the swarovision? Can i get something better or comparible for less $$$ Or what would you guys suggest for hunting and long days of glassing??? Any help would be great. Thanks

I'm not an optics expert, but I'll put in my two cents here. If at all possible, try a few pairs out before you decide. My eyes personally do not agree with the Swarovisions at all, despite the price. Great image if I'm holding still, but panning makes me seasick.

Lots of binoculars will be an upgrade over the Burris's you are using now. There is some really nice japanese glass out there as well as some excellent european stuff that isn't one of the big 3. What is "worth it" to you is going to really depend on your disposable income, how much you really use it AND how good your eyes are. The gap between the $600-1200 binoculars and the $2000+ models is small enough that I can't see it with my eyes, although I know some people can.

In my opinion, the most important things in hunting binoculars is that they are durable, have good resolution, and are comfortable to look through all day. I have had very poor luck with any Asian (non-japanese) optics as far a durability goes, so even though the glass can sometimes be very good, I will no longer buy them.