Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Boyfriend and I moving to Alaska, want to start hunting!

Default Boyfriend and I moving to Alaska, want to start hunting!

I was born and raised in Anchorage and just got into hunting over the last year while Tyler is from WA and has hunted all his life there. I'm moving back in a few weeks and would like to pursue hunting for just about anything (personally stand offish on bear or wolf, but Tyler probably isn't). Whats the best way to start hunting in a completely new area for something you've never hunted for before?

Personally, I'd like to find someone to become friends with to show me the ropes, or maybe just some advice on where I'm able to hunt, if I should get a guide the first couple times for moose, where to hunt for hare, ptarmigan, etc. Thanks for any and all advice!!
    ~Krystal

I'm very new to hunting in AK but not new to hunting.First thing I would do is figure out what you would like to hunt the most,then do your research on that particular critter and don't be afraid to ask questions.The other thing is a suitable rifle/shotgun and plenty of gear for the conditions you will be hunting in.

When you do arrive at the place you want to give it a go, put as much to memorie as possible, as knowing your hunting grounds is very important, and repeated visits will give you a better command of the Hunt in general, as well as be a bit safer in the long run.
    Find places you can access at the least expense so you can go back again and again, Looking ahead, try to develope, over the years, at least three different areas you like to hunt, and you will have a fall back when a population dips in one area, depening on what you wanna hunt.

Keep on Huntin'.
    If you can't Kill it with a 30-06, you should Hide.

"Dam it all", The Beaver told me.....

Default Your first year living here, fish and game will still call you a non resident

gr8 advice to you so far. Here is one more: