Thread: Tent suggestions!!

Exclamation Tent suggestions!!

Hi!
    Planning a trip to Alaska this August.
    Need a new tent and have looked into the Marmot Boreas 3P. Does anyone have any experience with this tent? Can it stand the temperature changes up in Alaska?

My other option was the Eureka mountain pass 3xte.

Do you guys have any other suggestions?

Please get back to me ASAP

best regards,
    Mike

I have no experience with that tent, but for the same money you could get a Cabela's Guide model 6 man tent. I have used this tent extensively to include many float hunts. The Guide series tents are one of the most popular tents in Alaska for all but winter camping.

For inspiration, have a great hunt!!

"I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I purchased a Hillberg the tentmaker tent a few years back and have been amazed at the performance. http://www.hilleberg.com/home/products/3-person.php I think from what you are looking at, that Nallo 3GT would be what you would want. The most amazing thing about these tents is the weight (that is their lack of weigth). The design is also super strong to stand up to the most extreme Alaska conditions -- wet and wind. The vestebule keeps your sleeping are free of clutter and it always nice to keep your gear out the rain/snow. I have used my tent both on the Kenai and Kodiak and have always stayed dry and comfy.

Default Recommendations on Tents for Alaska

I would start by reviewing our section on Tents, Awnings & Shelters on this site. All of the general principles you need to know for selecting a tent for Alaska conditions are there.

Some critical things to consider: