Thread: Water Skipping

Default Water Skipping

any one lucky enough to get water yet? in Tanana we a few puddles about 4 inches deep...

Great, get your self a jet ski and have some real fun !

Agreed. I watch a few people every year do this thing. It is almost always with someone else's machine so they don't ruin theirs. If you enjoy rebuilding your motor a lot then by all means slap a paddle track on your rig and go for it. Do forget your float coat.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

There's a good place to run in Talkeetna. Everyone I know does it on their own machine, and sinking one doesn't automatically mean a rebuild. My old Summit X has been sunk twice and came home under it's own power both times.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

Agreed, sinking a machine just means you have wet gas. Mine has been to the bottom once after I ran out of gas halfway across the lake All I had to do was pull the plugs, tip it up, and pull it over a few times. Fresh gas, and it fired right up. Still running strong 5 hard seasons later. One 4th of July I got the sled out and my buddy and I took turns running a pond in his yard. Just duct taped the vents, and ran it. It was a perfect lake with grass on both ends, and about 1/4 mile long. Just long enough to make some turns, but short enough to get to shore if it started porpoising or loosing power. I've got some good videos of it somewhere. Maybe I'll have to dig them up.

Sounds like you guys killed the mill before it sucked water. If you don't....